Astral Odyssey - Chapter 1 - Dawn

Foreword:

This story is based on my experience playing Arcane Odyssey. Obviously not entirely 100% accurate to the in-game story and lore, but perhaps a fun story, regardless. There may be adjustments made for the sake of storytelling.

This is Chapter 1 of the Astral Odyssey series.

Chapter 2 - Ronin
Chapter 3 - Anomaly
Chapter 4 - Gratitude

Content Warnings: Blood, Violence, Death, mentions of Torture

Bronze Sea - Redwake - Red Fin Inn

“First things first- I’m not entirely certain where I should begin, or why I’m even writing this. But let me just preface this by saying that I’ve found myself thrust into a situation I have little knowledge or understanding of. I feel like I’ve just woken up from the longest, deepest nap of my entire life.”

“Everything seems dream-like, surreal, hazy and distant, and yet very, very painfully clear at times. The events of A few hours ago yesterday, apparently, have proven to me that I’m not just some ordinary person, at least not as far as I can tell.”

“Why, exactly, am I writing this down? I’m not entirely certain- whether this is to remind me of what I was doing, or simply because I need a way to articulate and record my feelings. Or possibly, I’m afraid that I may lose my way memory again. Barring that, perhaps someday I’ll be somebody of note, and these notes will remind me of all that I’ve been through, assuming something terrible doesn’t happen to me.”

“To begin, my name is Matt Starsoul. I am a young man, roughly eighteen or nineteen years of age. Evidently, I am some sort of magic user- a man called Morden, someone who was is evidently my friend -told me as such. I have no memory of him, or of his our mutual friend Tucker, and the horrors that we’d escaped. Evidently, some group had taken us prisoner at some prior point in time, experimenting on us, making us do horrible things to one another, and the others… This was where when I learned that I was a wizard.”