Despair Chronicles-Chapter 1: No Control

A few things before the story begins:
I’m new to writing and any critique is welcome!
I may or may not continue this story!
Also, I don’t really know how to do grammar for dialogue, so :skull:
Now that those things are out of the way, let us begin!

A giant cloud twirled in the sky, spewing out blots of rain as it howled. A young boy wearing a plain beige tunic looked up at the great storm and hurried inside the wooden creaky shack that his family owned. Storms like these were quite common in the outskirts of Mount Seawatch, the old giant that he lived next door to, and the boy grew to enjoy them.
      "Mom, the wind is whipping up a storm outside, you might want to get that clothesline put up, fast!" called the boy up the short staircase that led to the attic, his parents room. 
      "Thanks, Drake! Sorry for asking this, but can you go get your father from Bell Village? It's quite a trek and you know I worry for him." Drake's mom peeked down the stairs and gave a warm smile. She then directed her attention to Drake's sopping wet hair. "You should probably dry that hair, so that your father can see that bright red hair of yours." Drake laughed at the inside joke that had ran for so long. 
   "Sure! Also, feed Mary, she's quite hungry." He pointed at the sleeping ball of fluff on the families fireplace. "She was meowing up a storm after I had gone out to feed the chickens." His mother nodded and Drake headed out the door into the grumbling storm.