Is this a bug or what?

Deckhand needs 15 notebooks to upgrade his profession and yet it says I am missing one. I get it that they can’t stack due to which player got it first but still it should count as one item

get rid of the 2 stacks of 1 notebook, then it’ll register the stack of 14 and you’ll only need to find one more.

It already registers the stack of 14 as the main stack, but the problem is that I actually have 16 notebooks in total yet I still can’t upgrade my deckhand. Idk if there’s a way to make it so I could use the stack of 14 and 1 extra from the other stack

assuming I read this question correctly, the answer to it would be no.