[Short Story] The Perilous Quest

Hai! - I’m Silver, and I just wanted some critique on a story I wrote a few months ago. I’m posting this here cuz I obviously can’t show it to my English teacher, and I’d really like some feedback on what I can improve!

(Also, please let me know if I’m doing this wrong, this is my first time posting on the forums)

The Perilous Quest:

It was a bright warm day in June, and the air was tepid with moisture. Golden sunlight beamed down onto the peninsula and dappled through the tree-leaves as the sun began its descent into darkness. The scene, yet seemingly serene and peaceful, was violently juxtaposed with what was happening underneath its façade.

Jan slumped down and leant against the hard oak of the tree, gasping for breath as she regained her composure. Glancing down at the sea of lacerations that criss-crossed her body, she knew these wounds were going to take some time to heal. But she couldn’t give up; not now. She’d spent far too long tracking the deadly criminal across Magius. Now was the time to bring this to an end.

The girl leapt up as the tree behind her disintegrated, followed by a loud thud as the battle-axe crashed into the ground, flinging rocks into the air. Heavy footsteps followed, as the figure towered above her. He too was bleeding, but seemed to take no notice of this, instead laughing in a terrifying yet seemingly baritone voice.

‘Your quest ends here adventurer! Give up before it’s too late.’

Jan looked up into his face, with its blood-shot eyes and tufts of unkempt hair, and knew that she wasn’t losing to this monster. Her mind raced to a possible solution, using past experience and training as aids. It came to her in moments and she glanced up into his eyes.

‘I don’t think so.’